Award Winners 2020

Award Winners

Oklahoma Chapter Planning Awards

The Oklahoma Chapter Planning Awards honor outstanding overall plans, best practices, and individual's efforts throughout Oklahoma.

2020 Award Winners

Oklahoma APA is happy to announce the 2020 Winners! 


Outstanding Plan

Claremore 2040 Comprehensive Plan
The plan is the City of Claremore's first stand alone Comprehensive Plan for its nearly 20,000 residents. It provided a high level of community involvement in visions and goals, especially in the revived downtown, the Rogers State University/West Ben District, the Will Rogers Boulevard corridor connecting districts, and the historic Route 66 corridor. 

Outstanding Citizen Planner

Stan Greil
Stan is the Chairman of the Midwest City Planning Commission. He has served in the U.S. Air Force and has a wide background in local, state, and federal government. He has served as City Manager in cities in Oklahoma, Michigan, and Missouri, and is currently an Adjunct Professor at Rose State College in Midwest City, Oklahoma. 

Outstanding Plan

Broken Arrow NEXT Comprehensive Plan
Broken Arrow is the fourth largest city in Oklahoma with just over 110,000 residents and is expecting to grow to nearly 140,000 by 2040. The "Broken Arrow NEXT Comprehensive Plan" envisions a future where the city grows both inwardly and outwardly, expanding the downtown Rose District and creating new mixed-use nodes that will transform older retail corners into vibrant new centers.  

Outstanding Student Project

Kyle Lambin - South Washington Streetscape, Stillwater, OK
South Washington is a prominent and vital street in Stillwater, Oklahoma, conecting the city center and Oklahoma State University to the south. It connects an area to the north known as "the Strip" by local university students and a proposed new sports complex to the south. The City of Stillwater sought to reimagine this corridor by designing a streescape. Kyle's design of the streetscape identified five goals: providing a corridor of public space, promoting car-free movement, investing in  Stillwater's core, increasing flood protection, and celebrating local ecology and biodiversity. Kyle is an OSU landscape architecture student.

Great Street

Midtown Walker Avenue, Oklahoma City
Walker Avenue is the heart of Oklahoma City's Midtown District. However, since the mid-20th Century, it had been in decline. In 2003, St. Anthony Hospital, one of the last remaining major institutions on Walker was on the verge of moving. Oklahoma City quickly acted to strike a deal to keep the hospital. Subsequent reinvestment in infrastructure and redevelopment followed. Since 2015, majority property owners embarked on an incremental project to add micro retail, pedestrian and bike amenities, public art, and remover curb cuts. 

FAICP Recipient

Larry Hopper
Larry's work in Oklaohma city has been a key to the transformation of the city into a national model for revitalization of a downtown and reinvigoration of transit in a metro. His exemplary work is based on in-depth expertise in transportation planning, economic revitalization, design review, trails planning, transit planning, community engagement, grant writing, teamwork, and mentoring. He was the youngest planner ever in Oklahoma to have become an AICP member and is a Past President of OKAPA.

Bob Goins Award

Taylor Huizenga